Skip to content

You’re gonna miss this….

January 30, 2011

We are a musical family.  Not the gifted, talented musical-instrument playing, in-tune singing kind of musical. Just “we like to listen to music” kind of musical family.  We like all kinds of music…rock, rap, jazz, piano, country, oldies, 70’s, 80’s, Frank Sinatra and on and on….all genres are okay on our playlists.

So, we have very eclectic playlists on our iPod.  Note: I say “OUR” iPod because Dan believes we just need to own one (1) iPod and we can share it.  aren’t they called iPods not famPods?? It is always fun to pop in the iPod and hit a play list and never  really never know what will be on the list or who might have created it! Even though the children each have their own iPods, they still have and enjoy access to the famPod. I went for a great run today (topic for a different day) and decided to choose a playlist I don’t usually run to nor was I sure what was on it. I was living dangerously as I was running in the winter with 48 inches of snow on the ground, so I figured mixing it up with a different play list was just what I needed for the run.

“Dad’s Playlist”

That is what I decided to go with. Guess what the first song on the play list was!  “You’re gonna miss this” by Trace Adkins.  Obviously, I have heard this song a million times before and I know Dan loves it.  But, I swear, I can NEVER listen to that song without getting a big lump in my throat and thinking how darn lucky I am.  That song puts everything into perspective for me!  I know that I am going to miss every single minute (minus a few REALLY bad ones) of parenthood, life and all our adventures! Our kids roll their eyes when we crank this song while Dan and I are cleaning up the dinner dishes and sing it at the top of our lungs.  We try to let them know that this is LIFE…our one chance at it and we better make it a good effort.

Thanks, Dan, for reminding me how great we really have it.  It helps me enjoy the “ride” even more.

This is the best version of the music video I could find, not great but you get the idea:

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Chris Newton permalink
    February 2, 2011 18:49

    Boy, this really resonated with me. Thanks for sharing!

  2. February 2, 2011 23:13

    ok now I’m bawling. I do love this song..hope you’re surviving up there!

    • Gringos In Argentina permalink*
      February 3, 2011 18:28

      we are holding our heads above the drifts (just barely). how are you guys doing?

  3. Darlene permalink
    February 22, 2011 14:33

    Hey! Trying not to work today! Having a great time reading your blog! LOVE IT!!!

    OK, another song. “Don’t Blink” by Kenny Chesney. and “I Hope You Dance” Can’t remember her name. My kids hate it when I start that mix!

Leave a Reply

