Skip to content

Summer memories….

February 2, 2011
tags:

While we brace for another 20 inches or so of snow, I thought I would look for a photo that reminds me warmer days, sandy beaches and good summer memories! It was late August and we had decided to have a picnic dinner at the beach.  I remember thinking, “we need to soak all of this summer goodness because the cold and snow will be here and I will need these great summer memories to get me through the winter”.  Boy oh boy, did I have some foresight!   I firmly believe that if you can get the chance to look at the beach or, better yet, walk on the beach every single day….you can get through even the roughest of winters! However, we are now just struggling with the logistics of winter. Remember, we are newbies at this.  Piles and piles of snow with no where to put it poses a problem.  It is still beautiful and fun for sledding & skiing….but just how high can one lift a shovel full of snow?

Since this is our first winter in Maine, we really don’t know anything other than what we are experiencing. For us, this is WINTER IN MAINE…we have nothing else to draw from.  However, I am gathering from what friends and neighbors are telling me, this is NOT NORMAL!  It seems Maine does not generally get pounded with snowstorm after snowstorm and have subzero temps for days on end.  I think this winter is beginning to wear on even the hardiest of the New Englanders and I am sorry for that.  I, too, am dreaming of warmer weather, laying on a beach and wearing only 1 or two layers of clothes not the 4 which have become my winter “uniform”.  For those Mainers who have lived here many years, I hope your dream beach vacation becomes a reality because you deserve it. I am going to keep my head down, focus on the shoveling, keep my fingers crossed that my washing machine keeps running (it was giving me signs last night that it was headed into shut down mode) and enjoy the rest of this “legendary” winter.  Don’t get me wrong, if you are giving away dreamy beach vacations….I will be first in line!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Eva permalink
    February 2, 2011 14:20

    Hey! Just happened to click your blog thinking that I’d see the last post from Argentina! Sooooooo glad you’ve decided to keep us updating on your life up there in Maine. LOVE it!

    PS I hope your washer and dyer keeps on tickin’

  2. Debbie permalink
    February 4, 2011 23:37

    Meg, I am not sending you a ticket, (given the comment related to the coupon class!!!) but the invitation is always open for you to come and soak up the sun… Hope you visit soon! XOXO

Leave a Reply

