Skip to content

Happy 17th Birthday!

February 7, 2011
tags:

Ok, so much good news on this front!

First and foremost, Mac is 17! Where the heck did the time go?  How can I be the mother of a 17 year old?  I remember being 17….very clearly and for the record, I was way more responsible than today’s 17 year-olds.  Mac spent Sunday, his actual birthday, in Boston at a school sponsored competition. He arrived home late last night so we didn’t have much time to celebrate. So, tonight we sang “Happy Birthday”, had cake and opened some presents.   We remembered to bring some of the awesome birthday candles back with us from South America….it was a fun tradition we had there! They seem to really add SPARKLE to the birthday cake.

I read this amazing blog by Shawni and love her idea of taking a picture with the birthday child each year. It is such a great idea as we hardly ever have photos of us with just one of the children.  Also, I hate being photographed. Notice the exhausted, no make-up, messed up hair look I have by evening….nice for the memory books. But this is more about Mac so I will just go with it.

On another good note, my washing machine is fixed! Dan managed to take it all apart, run some diagnostics, order the part and fix it himself. This is a first in our house…an appliance repair of this magnitude! I was happily catching up on laundry today NOT missing my “friends” at the laudromat! So, this will be the end of me talking about my laundry…which I am sure is a good thing!

Weather was warm (40 degrees) and there was lots of melting snow but we still have massive piles of snow in our yard.  At least the driveway could melt a bit and we could break up the ice chunks….oh the exciting life we lead.  Adeline got a part in the middle school play, a very minor part in Guys and Dolls but she is thrilled to be involved in it.

I will leave you with a picture I took down the street today.  This is why I love living here…I don’t think I will ever tire of seeing this view:

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Bea Hayes permalink
    February 8, 2011 00:07

    What a great surprise….getting to share Mac’s celebration with you. The cake is impressive…looks like dulce de leche icing! We love the pictures…..you all look great. Congrats Mac!!!

  2. February 8, 2011 07:10

    great ideas, great about washing machine and great photos!

Leave a Reply

