Skip to content

Verizon iPhone, hematoma & and arriving guests…..

February 9, 2011
tags:

Dan needed a new cell phone as his 4+ year old Blackberry was shot.  He had been on & off the fence about the iPhone but once it was announced that Verizon would be the new carrier….he quickly made his decision.  He enjoyed (if not bragged) about his “early invite” to pre-order the much coveted iPhone.  It arrived yesterday and while he pretends NOT to be in love….he can’t fool me.I know, I was his first love!  He is downplaying how much he loves his new phone. He can text, he gets emails, he can choose a ring tone…HE IS DANGEROUS!  I, on the other hand, am bitter! I have a 4+ year old iPhone and I just can’t justify two new phone purchases in the same fiscal quarter and maybe even the same fiscal year.  So,  i am bitter….did I mention that?

This morning I was definitely ON my game….not tooooo groggy, had a good night’s sleep and I wasn’t rushing.  I was just kind of “doing” my thing.  I grabbed a pile of laundry and headed downstairs. HOLY COW….my foot hit the stairs wrong and DOWN I WENT. Dan, Mac and Adeline came running….I guess I made quite a thud.  I hurt soooo many parts, parts I didn’t even know I had.  I would love to show you a picture of the HEMATOMA on my A– but I just can’t go there.  I have NEVER seen anything quite like this.  I can hardly even sit down. Both my arms are killing me. Now this might usually garner some sympathy in most households but….not so much here. Let me explain-early one morning about two weeks ago, I took a spill down the icy back porch stairs spilling my morning coffee on my way out.  It hurt but I managed to pull myself together; however, I did have an aching back for a few days.  Not too many days after my spill, poor Dan took a spill down the same back porch stairs. His spill, however, involved a plate of chicken, a sharp knife and a timer (he was on his way out to the grill). He found the chicken and knife but thinks he won’t see the kitchen timer until the spring thaw. His hematoma was one for the record books…wish I captured it on film (he wouldn’t allow that).  While many of you might think horseplay, alcohol or general stupidity was involved and I wish I could blame on one the aforementioned sins.  Let me put your mind at ease,  I believe it is old age….well, that’s what our kids told us this morning.  ” You guys keep falling because you are old….that is what old people do”.  P.S. I LOVE the word hematoma….I like to say it, I like to hear it, I like everything about it (unless I have a HUGE colorful one on my A–)! It is a rare opportunity to use the word-HEMATOMA- in a blog post.

On  a completely separate note, we have some friends visiting from the Commonwealth of Virgina (another favorite term of mine). MaryCate’s dearest school friends are visiting with their mothers this weekend. Isn’t that so sweet that they are willing to brave the cold, harsh winter of Maine to see their friend?  I love that!  We are all excited about the fun we have planned for the weekend. I hope our friends love visiting us as much as we will love having them!

Gotta go pop some more ibuprofen-

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2011 13:20

    now don’t be hurting yourself on the stairs after you’ve beaten the Antarctic!

  2. February 10, 2011 13:37

    Falls like that need TLC, rest and lots of wine. I firmly believe wine prevents spills of the body kind, notsomuch the wine kind! Feel better and have fun with your brave friends!

    • Gringos In Argentina permalink*
      February 10, 2011 23:01

      thanks for the advice. think it sounds very wise and i should give it serious consideration!!
      march…..can we make it happen????

  3. February 10, 2011 14:03

    Hold on! Your friend from the Commonwealth of Mass. is on her way with wine. I read somewhere that it helps with HEMATOMA’s….

    • Gringos In Argentina permalink*
      February 10, 2011 22:59

      rub it in….you and suzanne both have messages from the verizon iphone….are you loving it?? so wishing you were truly on your way up. sat at the doc this evening with oldest son….bronchitis and now on a zpack….thank goodness.

      LOVED you red pics….so fabulous!

Leave a Reply

