Skip to content

Thursday night is hell! T.G.I.F

February 17, 2011

I feel like every Thursday night is hell. Even after weeks of knowing it is hell, I still can’t seem to get my groove on! Let’s see, we have; spelling tests, math tests, Friday is the ONLY day we let the kids buy lunch at school which means ON THURSDAY EVENING we have to have exact change…singles to give them (we tried the monthly lunch budget and we pretty much had to donate plasma to pay the bills), exhaustion has set in from  a typically hectic week and the clincher is SKI NIGHT….three of the four kids go skiing directly from school and arrive home after 8:30…exhausted.

It is really the only day of the week that is terrible so, on one hand, I am thankful. On the other hand, why can’t I figure it out, get my groove on, and make it run more smoothly?  Also, just to add fuel to the fire, we are usually running out of food(I grocery shop on Fridays) so the kids are griping about no snacks, desserts or vegetables (JK…wanted to see if you were paying attention).

I am so happy when Friday afternoon rolls around….REPRIEVE!  The funniest thing about my personal hell is that, at least here in Maine, it is 100% easier than it was in Virginia.  The sad part is…I still have trouble coping. What does that say about me?  I tried especially hard this week to get everything going earlier in the week so I wouldn’t have to face the “end of the week crush” but it still happened.  My goal is to make Thursday night magical. Dinner (not from crap left over from all week), my own exhaustion level in check, groceries in the house, studies all caught up, singles already to go without raiding kids piggy banks!

I know…this is a rant post but I just thought you/someone might want to know how much T.G.I.F really meant to me!

see a resemblence? I do!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Maura permalink
    February 17, 2011 22:01

    Your personal hell sounds fabulous! Ski night once a week – beautiful! Your posts keep me smiling…Miss you.

  2. Debbie permalink
    February 17, 2011 22:30

    OH my gosh Meg…too funny! How I remember those days, of so many needing so much! And yet, despite it just being just Ramzi and I, I still can’t keep my life organized…Laundry piles up, cleaning piles up, no food here either…then there is the planning for work…what about taxes…need to get on with those…
    And sewing, quilting…passions put to the back burner in an effort to move forward one day at a time!
    Glad to see you are able to still laugh!

  3. Eva permalink
    February 18, 2011 08:35

    I love this post. I’ll going to quote you, “You’re gonna miss this.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

