Skip to content

Not one of my best days….

March 1, 2011

So, can’t say too much other than our entire house is in mourning. Our dog, just shy of 13 years, has moved on to “doggie heaven”.  Here is what I find difficult about the situation: I am so damn sad…sadder than I even thought I would be, but….I have to parent through this WHOLE experience. That sucks….I just want to be sad….not make it a teachable moment.  Is that bad? Am I a failure as a parent?  Is there a teachable moment? I am sure there is..but forget that….let me mourn.

Lycos was a phenomemal dog! She was a typical lab-she could retrieve a ball like nobody’s business but the trick is….she would throw it back to you. You NEVER had to bend down to get it….it was right up in your hand…ready to go! She was also wicked fast! She loved the ocean, loved all water really. I regret that we don’t have any great pictures of her doing the more “memorable” things. We seem to just have the lame photos of her laying around. She was so much more than that. My bad.

She has been such a huge part of our lives. I am crying as I type this…so blown away by how much I really miss her.  I guess I am grateful to have had her as part of our family, grateful I have this blog to write ahout her and grateful that I know she is in a better place.  She was suffering and the end was rough for all of us.

Thanks so much for even reading this post. Pets are phenomenal!  Good and bad, happy and sad! my pictures don’t do her justice.

ps….this was my worst. birthday. ever.! even the kids felt bad that I will have to remember today for the rest of my birthdays. Got a new a camera for my birthday….maybe…better pictures…fingers crossed!

here is a great picture of Lycos spending Christmas with our friends, the Brightbills, caregivers extraordinaire while we were in South America. She was loved and doted upon more than ever while she spent the year with them!

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2011 21:36

    oh Megan..my heart goes out to you. Losing a pet, especially one that you’ve loved for that long is so hard. I am so sorry. And of course you need to mourn..and let your kids see you mourn. It is a great loss my friend and I’m thinking of you. And I really wish I could bring up a bottle of nice red and drink it with you. 🙂

  2. Maura permalink
    March 1, 2011 22:13

    Thinking of you guys. Sending you lots of love.

  3. Debbie permalink
    March 2, 2011 05:46

    Meg,
    Mourn, grieve, cry….don’t think about making it a “teachable” moment…it is life and your children will watch and learn how to handle “life” as they see you suffer the loss of a dear family member, grieve for that loss, and then celebrate all the wonderful memories that Lycos brought to your family.
    We all handle grief in different ways, and your children will as well, so you need to do what is healthy for you (did one of your friends say she was bringing up a bottle of red wine????LOL)…..
    I was glad Raina said that now our Belle would have company in heaven, I liked that thought – the “cousins – Belle and Lycos” frolicking….although Belle never was one for fetching the ball more than once or twice!
    Thinking of you, XOXOX

  4. March 2, 2011 06:04

    Sorry about Lycos!

  5. Darlene permalink
    March 2, 2011 09:11

    Hang in there. If the kids are at school, go mourn, you deserve it. And it’s OK for them to see you sad, and cry. You got tears in my eyes this morning, and that’s hard to do. It takes a lot to win me over, but Lycos got me too! She will always be a part of your family and memories.

Leave a Reply

