Skip to content

Why I love living in my new small town.

March 3, 2011

Having moved from a fairly urban town in the metro Washington, DC area (Alexandria, VA) to a small town on the coast of Maine, there have been some adjustments.  Most are easy, enjoyable and make for a more enjoyable lifestyle.  I do miss elements of my “old” life: my sister, my store, my friends and easy access to great shopping.

However, today I had the wonderful pleasure of experiencing three things that come with living in a small town.  This morning I forgot to send a note to school with my youngest daughter informing her teacher that she would be going home with a friend after school.  After the dust settled from the morning rush, I remembered and called the elementary school.  The secretary answered, I told her my name and she said, “Oh, I am so glad you called. MC just came to let me know her friend’s mom, Mrs. F, would be picking her up after school today.  I was just getting ready to call you to make sure that was your plan for the day”.  LOVE IT!  No complaining that we forgot the note, no telling MC to go back to her class and that the play date wouldn’t work because she forgot the note, just one simple, easy & pleasant response. Now, I don’t want you to believe our old school was a mean, hostile environment because it wasn’t.  I just don’t always remember them knowing instantly which child was yours or the name of the mom driving your child home.

The second thing that happened was even better!  I arrived home after running some errands to find a package on my kitchen counter. It was gift wrapped, with ribbon and a card which read, “the Hayes family”.  Hmmmm….it wasn’t a birthday gift for me. What could it be??

My friend, Andie, dropped by with this book for our family.  Andie is a super busy mom with 4 young children and a volunteer wonder woman! But, she took the time to find this book for me, wrap it up and drop it off.  All without me even knowing she was aware of Lycos’ passing.  How phenomenal is that?  Small town…someone let her know what happened in our family and she cares!  I, of course, immediately read the book to the children and tears streamed down my cheeks.  What an awesome book!  I absolutely loved this book.  I would recommend it for anyone who has children (or not) and has lost a pet.  The illustrations are whimsical and colorful and the story is a real tear-jerker! Here are some samples from the book:

HELP ME!  So, the opening sentence and my lower lip started to quiver!

Love the colors and the sense of humor in the writing.  On the opposite page you can see God hiding behind a tree! Too funny!

Tears are now cascading….

and now,  let me just seal the deal for you:  In the mail today, arrived a card from the mom of the little girl MC was going home to play with after school today. She had called me on the afternoon we were headed to the vet with Lycos and I couldn’t really talk to her as we were rushing to leave. I called her later in the evening and we set up the playdate…just for the record, I DIDN’T cry on the phone but I did explain the situation as to why I couldn’t talk earlier in the day.  She sent a sympathy card! A lovely note telling me how sorry she was and letting us know she was thinking of us. I called her this afternoon and thanked her. She said they had lost a very special pet and she knew how hard it was.

WOW! These people up here ROCK!  Thank you and let me just leave you with this:

ps…pictures were taken with Dan’s iPhone (i’m just sayin’) and not every post from here on will be about Lycos (just in case you are worried).

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Bea Hayes permalink
    March 4, 2011 11:49

    So happy you received these blessings during such a stressful time. xoxo

  2. Debbie permalink
    March 5, 2011 08:06

    Oh, Meg…so glad to hear that you have kind and thoughtful friends in your “new” town…..it seems to me, that is what you miss the most when you move..”your friends!” I know almost 6 years later…I still miss my Flossmoor friends!
    Thank you for sharing a few of the book’s pages – what a wonderful resource that would have been when we lost Belle…the girls were so much younger then, and listening to Raina retell the story from her point of few the other day, as we talked about Lycos….it still brings tears to her eyes…..
    Think I will run over to “Little Bookworms” bookstore and see if they have this book…looks like a keeper, and I love Cynthia Rylant. Thank you for sharing the book.
    XOXO

    • gringosinargentina permalink*
      March 5, 2011 08:16

      I always think of, The Fall of Freddy the Leaf, when it comes to death. Never even knew this book existed and the story was just so wonderful. Glad you liked the post about it and I would highly recommend the book. Hope you are well…miss talking to you.

      • Debbie permalink
        March 5, 2011 21:47

        Funny, I thought of the same book (Fall of Freddie the Leaf) it is one of my favorite for dealing with death. Went to Little Bookworms, and they are ordering the book (Dog Heaven) for me…I think it will be nice to own.
        Not only for my own children, but good to have in the classroom as well!
        Nice catching up while I chopped down the ENTIRE hedge along one side of our house…will post picture later!
        XOXOXO

  3. March 9, 2011 20:04

    I sent this same book to my sister when her lab Jake passed away after 15 years. 😦 Hope you’re doing ok…

Leave a Reply

