Skip to content

Playing hooky

March 7, 2011

Today I pulled Adeline out of school a bit early and headed to Portsmouth, NH to visit with three of my nieces.  One of my nieces recently moved to Boston and she is hosting her two younger sisters this week while they are on their college spring break.  Knowing it is a rare opportunity to visit with my two nieces who live and go to school in Florida up in our neck of the woods, I figured I would jump at the chance to meet up with them.  I also thought it would be a nice chance to let Adeline hang with some of her girl cousins for the afternoon.

It seems like in the blink of an eye, these little girls have grown up!  I cannot believe how old they have gotten (which in turn means…how I old I must be). They were such fun to be around. I loved hearing all about college life, sorority and fraternity parties, plans to study abroad, life goals and on and on. I do not remember having it all so “together” when I was their age.  I also don’t remember having so much fun.  I seem to remember feeling constantly stressed over papers and deadlines (well, maybe a few parties too!).  These young ladies have both their feet firmly planted on the ground and a plan for where they are going and what they want to do in the future. Neither one of them is rushing  to graduate. In contrast, by the time my Junior year rolled around, I remember how badly I wanted to breeze through the rest of college and move on to the “real world”.  I wish someone had told me to slow down and that the real world is really overrated. My nieces are well aware of the dismal job market that faces them, the harsh reality of the adult world filled with bills and jobs and recognize that this is a time in their lives they should savor!  They certainly are bright girls.  I believe they both have great futures and I wish them all the best.

From this:

they grown up and become this:

(three nieces and adeline enjoying some cousin time)

Time Flies!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Bea Hayes permalink
    March 8, 2011 11:42

    What a great picture!! Adeline has grown up so much…..she looks like “one of the girls”. Know you both had a wonderful time!

  2. Debbie permalink
    March 8, 2011 18:51

    Gosh Meg,
    Such nice, kind words about my girls! Thank you! It is amazing how these small wonderful creatures grow up and have wonderful personalities and plans for their lives! It is fun to watch….and you are on the cusp of this wonderful morphing of your children.
    Enjoy the ride…children are amazing gifts whether near or far….
    Thanks for bringing Adeline when you went to visit…I think it is important for cousins to have that bond…something we missed growing up.
    Anyway, great of you to check in with my traveling bambinos!
    XOXOX

Leave a Reply

