Skip to content

Lent…arrived just in time!

March 9, 2011

Today is the first day of Lent.  For Catholics, Lent is the time leading up to Easter.  As Catholics we use this time to prepare for Holy Week which includes the Passion and culminates with the celebration of Jesus’ resurrection on Easter Sunday.  Many Catholics view Lent as a time of sacrifice,  a time when they go without something or give up something they enjoy.  For the past several years, I have tried to take on something during Lent. Sometimes, I would help an elderly neighbor with her trash cans, another year I wrote a letter to a different person everyday of Lent, and my favorite “one” is attending daily mass.

While I would love to attend daily Mass, unfortunately, it is not an option for me here in Maine.  I have been reflecting on what I will do this year to prepare for Easter Sunday.  I seem to be struggling more this year than most but I have decided to pray the Rosary everyday during lent.  While I have so many things in my life to be thankful for, I have a list of “special intentions”  that seem to be growing each and everyday.  With some time set aside for the Rosary each day, it will give me an opportunity to ask for guidance and help with my ever growing list.

Honestly, Lent came just in time for me.  I need these 40 days to make some changes, decisions, and preparations.  Happy Lent to all and if you are the praying type, please keep me in your prayers this holy season.

A wonderful inspiration for me.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 11, 2011 06:56

    Well Meg, I like the idea of saying the Rosary daily. Can you just add my list to your list? I see some folks are giving up FB…more than one of my friends and family have gone that route. I myself look at FB as a form of communication, so would rather not give it up (despite my own daughters telling me I should!) I was/am going to stop the daily intake of chocolate…which has the spiritual benefit of “sacrifice” and the health benefit of fewer calories…:-)
    But I also have a little black book that they gave out at our church…(I could try to snag one this Sunday if you want one) – they used to distribute them @ IJP… I love them, it is like a pocket devotional. It is 6 mins/day…for the next 50 days (started last Sunday.) The right had side, goes through the Sunday Gospels for this Lent (Cycle A) – an ancient way of praying the Scriptures called Lectio Divina.
    And on the left hand side, you find a variety of quotes, information and timely thoughts – interesting tidbits.
    Anyway, I savor it with my first cup of coffee….wishing you prayer and peace on your Lenten journey, as I pray for the same in my life.
    XOXOXO

Leave a Reply

