Skip to content

a time of growth

March 14, 2011

At church this weekend, the Homily was all about growth.  Growth is easily and symbolically reflected with the arrival of Spring; new buds on the trees (not here in Maine just yet), some flower shoots (a few here & there), and personal growth.  It is also during Spring, at least in the northern hemisphere, when we celebrate Lent which brings a time of spiritual growth (through prayer and reflection).  I am grateful for this time which I will be using  to reflect and grow. The change which comes after reflection and growth is generally good…but the reflection part is key.  If you don’t look back, you miss the seeing the road you “were” on and choosing the right path forward can be difficult.

So, all that might be kind of heavy for a Monday morning, I realize that but I think it is a good place to start a new week.

On a lighter note (only figuratively), this is how MC greeted me this morning:

She didn’t even mention her “look” to me.  Instead, I noticed a flash of lime green while she was reaching up to get a cereal bowl.  I didn’t recall her brown cords having any green trim.  Ever inquisitive (or nosy as some of my children might say), I asked what she had going on with her pants.  She very proudly showed me her button modification.  She explained that while she could button her pants, they made her tummy hurt and it was a struggle. (I think we have all been there, haven’t we? I am just sorry she had to experience it this early in life!) Shocked at this new development, I looked at the tag in her pants. Relieved, I noticed they are “8 SLIM”…since she is only days shy of being 10, I think it is okay to outgrow the 8 slim pants. Remember my morning thought:

GROWTH

I think this was a sign from the “the man upstairs”, don’t you?  A very obvious, in-your-face kind of sign.

Still intrigued about how MaryCate knew this pant expanding trick which I have used but NEVER shared with her. (note: I have only used the “trick” when pregnant and outgrowing pants but not ready to commit to maternity clothes –  or at least that is the story I am sticking with!) MC proudly explained that she had learned this trick from the book containing all things important in her life:

(photo courtesy Amazon.com)

A “must-have for girls” as Parenting magazine says.  MC has “borrowed” this book from her older sister.  I love when they graduate to their older sister/brother’s books.  I feel like it is such a tangible step in their growth, intellectually.  Awesome to see!  The other fun part of this book is that without the dust jacket, this book is camouflaged to look like a “Chemistry”  marble-covered notebook. Next time you are at the book store, check it out.

Guess I need to shop for new pants, size 10…slim or not?

Have a great Monday.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Eva permalink
    March 14, 2011 14:54

    This is hilarious and I TOTALLY remember doing that with my pants at work when I was pregnant.
    Way to go MC!

  2. March 15, 2011 22:12

    Wow…I need to keep this little trick of the trade in my “possible options” when pants are too tight!!! So clever…thank MC for me! Great solution to yet another of life’s problems!

    Hope Lent is going well….XOXO

Leave a Reply

