Skip to content

oh happy day…

March 18, 2011

There really is no reason I should be in a good mood, well, actually I am NOT in a good mood but I thought I would attempt to brighten my day with these:

I am having a bit of “crush” on sprinkles. Whenever I see them, they transport me back to my childhood.  Sometimes, when we were lucky, our parents took us to Friendly’s for an ice cream cone.  We always went to the walk-up window.  If my parents were feeling especially generous, we could get sprinkles.  Truly, they don’t really add any taste so I am not sure why I always wanted them.  So, I guess sprinkles are synonymous with a less complicated time in my life.

SPRINKLES = HAPPINESS

In an effort to get me out of my funk or at least appear outwardly (to my kids) to he happy, I thought I would make these sprinkle-covered, birthday-cake tasting rice krispy treats.  I also had a friend who I knew could use a little pick-me-up as well…kill two birds…..you get it!

I had seen these treats sometime ago while surfing the web and stumbled upon Michelle at One Ordinary Day.  I like her “stuff”.  I really like her recipes.  Tomorrow morning I think we will be trying her buttermilk  chocolate chip muffins which are originally from the Joy of Baking (a cookbook I would love to own!) I will let you know what I think…like you even care! I have a list of about 25 new(ish) cookbooks I would like to see magically appear on my kitchen shelves.  I will go to bed tonight and hope the kitchen fairies come and deliver them to me…dare to dream!

Back to my mood and rice krispy treats….the snacks were just okay. My kids and their friends seem to enjoy them and they were a real eye-pleaser.  I thought they were a little bit dry so next time I would add more marshmallow. The day was beautiful, it actually hit 70 degrees and the sun was shining so brightly, a real treat for a march day in Maine!  As for my mood, still hovering at “less than happy” but I did enjoy seeing the smiles on the children’s faces.

 

time to call it a day!

 

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Maura permalink
    March 18, 2011 22:35

    Cool idea for a blog post! 🙂

  2. gringosinargentina permalink*
    March 18, 2011 22:46

    thanks maura. i find my inspiration in the strangest places 😉

  3. Eva permalink
    March 19, 2011 15:36

    I love sprinkles too and you brought back great memories for me of Friendly’s. Since I grew up in the SMALLEST town (still dry) that was THE place to meet. I loved the Black Raspberry flavor.

  4. Maura permalink
    March 20, 2011 22:12

    Please don’t be sad!

  5. March 22, 2011 00:27

    Hey! I’m so glad you’re blogging–how have I missed that you started up again? A few times I have run into comments you’ve posted at Sarah’s blog, and I’ve always smiled thinking of you and both your funny perspectives on mothering and your deliberate approach to living.

    I’ll have to catch up on the last few months of your life, maybe tomorrow, since it’s 12:18 a.m. and I need to go to bed. So here’s to a happier day tomorrow for you (because you deserve one) and for me (because I’ll get a little dose of Megan). So good to hear your voice. Is that weird that after spending one twenty-four hour period with someone I miss them? Well, I do.

    • gringosinargentina permalink*
      March 22, 2011 08:48

      liz-
      i am so glad you found me (again). great to hear from you. How goes you new life in C-ville? do you love it? i can’t wait to hear your thoughts.
      I hope you are doing well.
      stay in touch.
      it feels good to be writing again. i missed it more than i realized.

Leave a Reply

