Skip to content

So this is Spring in Maine….

March 22, 2011

Well, one or two (quite possibly three) of us were somewhat bummed to hear that a snowfall was expected yesterday..the first “official” day of Spring.  I was fine with the hint of some snow falling but when the checker at the grocery store informed me that we were supposed to be getting 3-6 inches….I nearly dropped my sack of groceries!   Heaven help us if we get enough snow to sled or shovel. I think there will be a full-on family revolt!

Good news for us…just an inch or so of wet, mushy snow that I am confident will melt through the course of the day (you can’t actually hear the wavering in my voice since I am typing this and not saying it…nor can you see my fingers crossed!)

Well, what can/should we expect-we are in MAINE, for pete’s sake.  I am not foolish enough to think we would be picking tulips and running through the sprinklers while picnicking outside.  I would, however, love to put away the boots, gloves and snow parkas!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2011 10:28

    Oh honey, you ain’t seen nothing yet! Jack was born April 3 and we had a mini-blizzard on April 4th (he’s turning 8 — happy b’day to the twins!!). My folks return from FL right after Mother’s Day and complain about the bitter cold for weeks. Spring doesn’t hit New England until June and it comes in like summer! Hot and fast! You’re going to love it!!

    • gringosinargentina permalink*
      March 22, 2011 11:26

      i guess i gotta love it….i’m here and need to make it “work”. thanks for the words of wisdom. looking forward to the day when I can be like your folks….snowbirds!

  2. March 23, 2011 08:12

    Do NOT put those boots away! Get ready for more snow tonight!!!

  3. March 27, 2011 22:10

    Sprinklers, tulips, and picnics? You crack me up. Truth be told, I’m ready to put away boots, too, and I’m like two climate zones away from you. I’m such a baby . . .

Leave a Reply

