Skip to content

Happy Birthday Sweetie…

June 17, 2011

This is a banner week for Dan…birthday and Father’s Day. He loves it because it is ALL ABOUT HIM. NOT!!! He does not dig that kind of stuff.

It was a great birthday, if I dare say so myself! Same lemon cake I have made for 23 years which he says is almost as good as the one his mom makes.  This year I decided he would not even recognize the awesomeness of his lemon cake…..disguised as a CASTLE! Actually, I didn’t have a bundt pan (mine is still in my stored life in Virginia..which is where more than half of my life is) so I borrowed a neighbors’. Her pan turned out to be unusable (enough said) so she generously offered me her CASTLE bundt pan. I wavered a bit but then thought….what man doesn’t want to be King of the Castle?

So there you have it…Dan got a Castle Cake….not a Princess Castle Cake….a King of the Castle-kind of cake!!

Please notice the “lovely” moat around the castle!  Doesn’t he look thrilled to be the King?

and finally, the dorky photo of the whole family:

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2011 10:40

    HaPpY BiRthDay Dan and I love the cake!!! Megan, your sis came through for me last week with a VERY last minute graduation order. Awesome!

  2. Eva permalink
    June 17, 2011 19:35

    OK. Not only do I LOVE the castle cake but I also love the “summer rules” I can’t wait to hear more about them. We’ve been out of school 3 days and it feels like 3 weeks. 🙂 Can’t wait to see you.

    xo
    Eva

  3. June 18, 2011 09:03

    You are the most amazing wife and mother…a castle cake??? Gosh, I can’t recall the last time I made a cake for ANYONE’S birthday! But then you know I am on the “how long can I actually go without cooking a meal/food” quest!
    So hope Dan’s birthday was wonderful…I did send him a text (hope you gave me the right number!) and since I am about 30 days behind in all things related to the US MAIL….forgive me….card is coming!
    Love the family picture…(who took the photo?) Great to see all of you…it has been far too long, I miss all of you…why do we live so far away……I have an old friend who lives in Newport, VT. It looks lovely, perhaps I will move there! Just a thought!

  4. Bea Hayes permalink
    June 18, 2011 13:13

    What an impressive cake!!! I assure you his mother never baked anything this fancy…know it was a BIG hit. Love the family birthday photo and the one of the “King”! Looked like a fun celebration.

  5. Allison Whitley permalink
    June 20, 2011 09:11

    Ok, although I really miss you and the kids, I really miss Dan after seeing him with his cake!! xoxoxo to Dan! xo Ali

Leave a Reply

